Campus News 2006

For Immediate Release
February 7, 2006


by Amy Armstrong, Assistant Director of University Relations

Three Schreiner students were inducted into the Honors Program during a ceremony on campus Jan. 26.

Honors Program recipients - 2006

Back row, left to right: August Blackburn, Gillian Friedel, Kristen Morton, Delma Thompson, Shari Glover, Elaine Murray and Anna Oran.  Front row, left to right: Megan McDonald, Charmelyn Fortune, Niki Castaneda, Sally Middleton and Elizabeth Boulware.

At the same ceremony nine students were presented with their Honors Program senior rings.  Elaine Murray, Kerrville, Anna Oran, San Antonio, and Elizabeth Boulware, Saginaw, were accepted into the prestigious honors program.  Seniors August Blackburn, Blanco, Gillian Friedel, Round Rock, Kristen Morton, San Angelo, Delma Thompson, Huntsville, Shari Glover, Lake Jackson, Charmelyn Fortune, Kerrville, Sally Middleton, San Antonio, Megan McDonald, Tomball, and Niki Castaneda, Converse, were presented with their senior rings.

Incoming students and current Schreiner students are provisionally accepted into the program each year. At the end of their fall semester, students who fulfill Honors Program requirements are nominated, by full faculty vote, for formal induction into the program during its annual January ceremony.

For more information contact Dr. Kirsten Komara, assistant professor of English and director of the writing center and honors program at Schreiner, at 830-792-7254 or e-mail at

To have an e-mail reminder sent to you prior to an event please visit our CAMPUS CALENDAR. Just click on the event you are interested in and choose the option "set reminder" on the detail page.