Campus News 2006

For Immediate Release
October 31, 2006

Schreiner Freshmen Awarded Presidential Scholarships  

KERRVILLE, Texas — Fifty-eight students were awarded the 2006 Schreiner University Presidential Scholarship — the highest merit award offered to exceptional incoming freshman.  

Presidential Scholarships - 2006The 2006 recipients include the following: Leigh Ann Brown of Seguin; Kathryn Calhoun of Kerrville; Jaclyn Cannaday of Paris; Adolpho Castillo of San Antonio; Hannah Clark of Winnsboro; Eric Crenwelge of Cibolo; Courtney Davis of Spicewood; Keleigh Donaldson of San Antonio; Kellen Ecker of Richardson; Dean Ellis of Guatemala; Jaime Escobar of Freer; Ashley Eubanks of Boerne; Dustin Ficker of Ingram; Matthew Franklin of Tilden; Mark Freund II of San Antonio; Andrew Garrett of Ovilla; Marissa Garza of Beeville; Meghan Gass of Devine; Meagan Godfrey of Bandera; Jared Grove of Harper; Ashley Guerra of Atascosa; Acayla Haile of Tarpley; Meagan Hernandez of Schertz; Jordan Horstman of Boerne; Jessie Hudson of San Antonio; Genie Iness of Bandera; Lindsey Jaeger of Fair Oaks; Matthew Jepson of San Antonio; Harold Johnston IV of Sour Lake; Spencer Key of Jourdanton; Rae Kinkead of Central City, Iowa; Alta Ledetsch of San Antonio; Andrew Lemlyn of Marble Falls; Matthew Loerwald of Argyle; Lydia Mebane of San Marcos; Justin Mills of Lakehills; Surraya Minhas of San Antonio; Quinton Murr of Junction; Krystal Nentwich of Devine; Joanna Ohlhausen of Kerrville; Melanie Perry of Van Vleck; Amy Lou Rankin of Floresville; Abigail Rider of Friendswood; Amparo Rivas of San Antonio; Lindsay Rutkowski of Jourdanton; Amanda Smythe of Bandera; Brent Stanford of Whitewright; Tristan Stewart of Fredericksburg; Brandon Thompson of Kerrville; Gretel Trejo of Laredo; Alyssa Trotman of Pipe Creek; Jesse Ugarte of Kerrville; Kaycee Westberry of Ingleside; Hannah Williams of Atascosa; and Priscilla Zurita of San Antonio.

This $10,000 scholarship is awarded each year, and the eligible student may receive $40,000 over a 4-year period. To be eligible for the Presidential Scholarship, a student must excel in academic areas and exhibit outstanding leadership qualities and involvement in extracurricular and other volunteer activities throughout high school. Students who qualify for the Presidential Scholarship are notified at the time they are admitted to Schreiner. Presidential Scholars are encouraged to participate in our Scholars Learning Community, a two-semester liberal arts program for a select group of entering first-year students.

Schreiner University is an independent coeducational liberal arts university related by choice and by covenant to the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). To learn more about Schreiner University, visit our Web site at or call the Office of Admission at (830) 792-7217.

To have an e-mail reminder sent to you prior to an event please visit our CAMPUS CALENDAR. Just click on the event you are interested in and choose the option "set reminder" on the detail page.