Campus News 2012

For Immediate Release
May 11, 2012

Schreiner announces 2012 Sumners Scholars

Trustees of the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation have chosen four sophomores to receive scholarships for their junior and senior years at Schreiner University. The recipients are Jadher Abad, from Katy, Texas; Jan DeJesus, San Antonio; Tayler Hobberlin, of California; and Emilee Lockridge, Flint, Texas.

The Foundation chooses scholars on the basis of the strength of their applications, résumés, an essay and interviews. In addition to generous scholarships, the students attend prestigious educational and leadership conferences, funded by grants from the foundation, throughout each academic year.

“The applicant pool this year certainly represented our best and brightest students and selection of the final four was a particularly challenging process,” said Beth Bourland, director of foundation relations at Schreiner. “Special thanks go to the local interview panel members: Nancy Dickinson, retired psychologist; Fred Henneke, attorney; Ed Fort, retired, Dow Chemical; Lloyd Painter, retired, U.S. Secret Service; and Fred Vogt, retired U.S. Navy. These volunteers are most diligent in their efforts to engage students in a challenging first-round interview process and to select the candidates that are interviewed in a final round by the Foundation Trustees.

For more information about the Sumners Scholars Program at Schreiner go to For more information about the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation and its work in Texas, Oklahoma and New Mexico, visit their website at

To have an e-mail reminder sent to you prior to an event please visit our CAMPUS CALENDAR. Just click on the event you are interested in and choose the option "set reminder" on the detail page.